Skip to content

Newspaper staff brings home multiple awards in state competition

Members of The Mustang News staff show off their new hardware after The Yukon Review, Mustang’s sister publication, won first place in news content at the Oklahoma Press Association’s 2021 award banquet June 12. Pictured are, from left, summer intern Dacoda McDowell-Wahpekeche, managing editor Michael Pineda, associate publisher Paula Settle, news editor Haley Humphrey, production manager Larissa Copeland and sports writer Michael Kinney. Photo / John Settle

Staff members from The Mustang News and The Yukon Review joined newspapers from across the state last weekend for the annual Oklahoma Press Association award convention. 

In addition to continuing education opportunities, awards for the past year were presented. 

The News took second in Advertising and second in Sports Coverage. 

It was also awarded third for Community Leadership and third place in Layout & Design.

The Yukon Review, The Mustang News’s sister publication, received first place for News Content, and news editor Haley Humphrey won an award for the OGE-OPA Photo of the Year in the weekly division. 

In regard to the photo of an alpaca kissing a child, judges wrote, “This image has a great reaction, and we loved the faces of the other kids looking at the situation. It’s almost like a Norman Rockwell painting.”

“I could not have been more proud of my staff this weekend. The fruit of their labor was evident at the Annual OPA Awards Convention,” said Paula Settle, Mustang News and Yukon Review associate publisher. “It was a real joy for all our employees to reap the rewards of all the past year’s hard work. 

“Cheers, hats off and congrats to my amazing staff.”

The Owasso Reporter placed first in the Weekly Division and the News placed fourth. The El Reno Tribune won first in the Semi- and Tri-Weekly category and the Yukon Review was fifth. 

Former Mustang News managing editor Mark Codner received the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation Beachy Musselman Award. This award recognizes a journalist for their contribution to the field of printed journalism.

Leave a Comment