Skip to content

Nine softball players earn postseason honors, Hoke named district’s top coach

Janie Abrams named to 2016 Large-School West All-State team

The Yukon softball finished the 2016 season with a 29-7 record, a district championship, a regional championship and a semifinal berth in the 2016 6A State Softball Tournament.

To add on to an already impressive year, the Yukon girls had multiple postseason awards handed out following the completion of the season.

“I couldn’t be more proud of my players for everything they accomplished this year,” Yukon coach Katy Hoke said. “We had a tremendous year and I am really excited for them for getting recognized. They definitely deserve it.”

Hoke was named the District Coach of the Year in her first year as the head coach of the Yukon softball program. Chyenne Factor was named the Offensive Player of the Year in the District with Hannah Franklin, Janie Abrams, Breley Webb, Reilly Schlarb, Makenna Arnold, Aleyah Holman, Jewell Lee and Rylee Uhr all being named to the All-District team.

Chyenne Factor was named to the All-Conference first-team as a utility player, Janie Abrams made the All-Conference second-team as a second baseman and Breley Webb was selected to the All-Conference second-team as a pitcher. Making the All-Conference honorable mention team was Hannah Franklin, Jewell Lee, Rylee Uhr, Aleyah Holman, Reilly Schlarb and Makenna Arnold.

Only seniors and a maximum of four players could be selected to the All-Region team. Four Yukon girls made the squad. They are Janie Abrams at second base, Reilly Schlarb at catcher, Hannah Franklin as a utility player and Jewell Lee as a utility player.

Making the 2016 Large-School All-State West Team was Janie Abrams as a utility player with Reilly Schlarb making the team as an alternate catcher and Jewell Lee as an alternate outfielder.

“For the seniors, who were selected to some of these teams, I am very happy that they are going out getting the recognition they deserve,” Hoke said. “For the underclassmen coming back that were named to these teams, hopefully they will use it as motivation to do even better next year.”

Leave a Comment